Ippan Shadan Hojin Chado Urasenke TankokaiUrasenke Tankokai Federation

This membership organization, whose President is Grand Master Zabosai SEN Soshitsu XVI, Chair is Masako SEN, and Vice-Chair is Takafumi SEN, was initiated in 1940, to unify the numerous Urasenke study groups and practitioners in Japan. In 1953, it was registered by the Ministry of Education, Science, and Culture as an incorporated body. Its aims are to ensure the standardization of the Urasenke chanoyu rules and tea-making procedures (temae), support research, encourage cooperation and exchange among all members, promote the practice of the principles layed down by the grand master, and expand the chado population around the world. Also, it provides support for the purposes and activities of the Urasenke Foundation.

In Japan, the organization is divided into seventeen districts comprising 165 chapters and 2 sub-chapters. Each district has a liaison council for the Gakko Chado (Tea Training in the Educational System) program sponsored by the organization. There are also 167 groups belonging to the organization’s Seinenbu, or “Youth Division.” These three entities organize seminars, tea gatherings, conventions, and many other activities. The central office, serving to coordinate the programs and activities of all these, is located in the Urasenke Center building at Urasenke headquarters, Kyoto. Twice a year, in the spring and autumn, it calls together a national meeting of chapter presidents, to decide upon general policies and activities. In 1999, the International Division of the Urasenke Foundation was moved under the umbrella of this office, effectively extending the organization to overseas regions. Currently there are 92 official Chado Urasenke Tankokai associations spread over 37 countries outside Japan.